Make your own free website on

To listen to a section of the song simply click on the title (All album songs hosted by V2

Released August 25th 1997 (UK) on LP, CD and MC

"Word Gets Around" Tracks
1. A Thousand Trees
2. Looks Like Chaplin
3. More Life In A Tramps Vest
4. Local Boy In The Photograph
5. Traffic
6. Not Up To You
7. Check My Eyelids for Holes
8. Same Size Feet
9. Last Of The Bigtime Drinkers
10. Goldfish Bowl
11. Too Many Sandwiches
12. Billy Daveys Daughter

Comments: Stridently self-confident fare from a band unlikely to be one-album wonders, this boasts hard-edged rock music, shot through with Kelly Jones's sense of lyrical black comedy.

Released March 1999 (UK) on LP, CD and MC
"Performance And Cocktails" Tracks
1. Roll Up and Shine
2. The Bartender and the Thief
3. Hurry Up and Wait
4. Pick A Part That's New
5. Just Looking
6. Half The Lies You Tell Ain't True
7. I Wouldn't Believe Your Radio
8. T-shirt Suntan
9. Is Yesterday Tomorrow Today
10. A Minute Longer
11. She Takes Her Clothes Off
12. Plastic California
13. I Stopped To Fill My Car Up

Comments: This album is not likely to change any fortunes in America, but it has easy appeal to any Anglophile who's picked up on Stereophonics' dynamic, classic sound.  The Stereophonics are somewhere musically between Oasis and the Manic Street Preachers.
                The band's strengths are quite obvious, and plenty effective. Singer Kelly Jones has the best voice in British rock music today - Liam Gallagher's soar minus the annoying whine and plus a bluesy, shivery edge. As this might indicate, Stereophonics do ballads quite well. I count no less than six here-none as luxurious and atmospheric as "Traffic", the centerpiece of Word Gets Around, but all solid enough. Perhaps the best is "Hurry Up and Wait", although "Just Looking" has charted high overseas. Most of the rest clog up the second half of the record, rendering it significantly less memorable than the first.
              Stereophonics are a young band who have yet to make their masterpiece - but they're getting closer. Hopefully their massive overseas fan base doesn't get in the way.

Home | Biography | Videos | Albums and Audio | Singles | Lyrics and Tabs | Tour Dates | Links